Welcome note

23 Jul 2019

The school of science at UR was established in 2013. It is the merge of the School of Applied Science of former National University of Rwanda (NUR) and the School of Pure and Applied Science of former Kigali Institute of Science and Technology (KIST)
The school of science aims at producing graduates with practical and intellectual skills in natural sciences and Mathematics appropriate to the needs of the present and the future for Rwanda, the region and worldwide.

The school expects also some of the graduates to pursue higher education to enhance science knowledge and provide solutions to the 21st-century societal challenges. The school has both undergraduate and postgraduate programmes.

The school consists of four Departments : Department of Biology, Department of Chemistry, Department of Mathematics and Department of Physics.

The following Postgraduates programmes are also delivered in the School of Science : MSc in applied mathematics, MSc in Atmospheric and Climate Sciences, MSc in environmental Chemistry ; PhD by research in Biological Sciences, PhD by research in Chemistry, PhD by research in Physics and PhD by Coursework in Mathematics.

The school of Science is in collaboration with national and international agencies. We can mention here : REMA, WASAC, RSB, RDB, NISR, ARES, ISP, ICTP, SIDA, CIMPA, EMS, IUCEA.

Members of the school are integrated into regional and international research groups and have carried out consultancies for national and international organizations

Dean of School


Subscribe and get our newsletter inbox.

Back to Top